Clearing Temporary Permits

Void/Rescind/Roll Back/Unwind

If you have a temporary permit that is filled out incorrectly, the sale of the vehicle is rescinded, or for some other reason the permit is unusable, the dealer must return the permit **AND** the stub to Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division and it will not be considered issued. There is not a fee due for this type of permit. If the permit is returned with the stub and is expired, there is still not a fee due.

If both the stub **AND** permit are not returned there will be a fee due equal to the registration fee. If the permit is also expired there will also be a 100% penalty. See the prices below to determine the fee due based on the vehicle type.

If you are clearing the permit with a "dummy*" permit there will be a fee due equal to the registration fee and a 100% penalty.

Extension

Permit extensions may be granted in exceptional circumstances when the problem is beyond the dealer's control. Extensions will not be issued if the paperwork or plates are delayed because of negligence or failure on the part of the dealer to submit the paperwork timely to the Department of Motor Vehicles. A permit extension will only be given one time to a customer and requires the dealer to use one of their new temporary permits. If the request meets the criteria and the dealer's permit extension percentage is not above 2% of permits purchased within the last 90 days, MVED will issue an authorization number. This number must be written on the temporary permit and the acronym USTC (Utah State Tax Commission) listed in place of the dealer name. The permit stub must be mailed in to MVED. DO NOT TURN THE EXTENSION INTO THE DMV WHEN LICENSING. There is not a fee for an extension.

Non-Resident

This is a permit that is put on a vehicle that has been sold to a resident of another state. Submit the permit stub along with a fee due equal to the registration fees for the vehicle. If the permit has expired there is also a 100% penalty.

If you are clearing the permit with a "dummy*" permit there will be a fee due equal to the registration fee **and** a 100% penalty.

Fee Schedule for permits issued on or after 01/01/2025:

Tee Seneaale for permits issuea on or arter of or or arter	
Passenger/Lt Truck Vehicles	\$70.50
Passenger/Lt Truck Vehicles with expired permit	\$141.00

Vehicles weighing in excess of 12,000 lbs gross weight are charged a ¼ year registration fee. Please call MVED at 801-297-2600 for the amount. The weight of the vehicle must be listed on the temporary permit. If the permit has expired a 100% penalty will also be assessed.

Motorcycles	\$71.00
Motorcycles with expired permit	\$142.00
Off Highway	\$41.50
Off Highway with expired permit	\$83.00
Snowmobile	\$28.50
Snowmobile with expired permit	\$57.00
Trailer	\$48.00
Trailer with expired permit	\$96.00

The Utah Tax Code for temporary permits is 41-3-302 and Administrative Rule 877-23V-5. It is illegal to alter any part of a temporary permit. An MVED temporary permit should **never be issued to a watercraft** – contact the DMV to inquire about watercraft permits. All temporary permits and applicable fees should be sent in to: **Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division at 210 N 1950 W, SLC UT 84134**. Please make check payable to: **Utah State Tax Commission**. If you have any questions, please contact MVED at 801-297-2600.

*Dummy permit. This is a permit that has been lost. In order to clear the permit, you must send in something with all of the original permit information, such as customer information, vehicle information, date issued and expiration date, dealer information, and permit number.