Vehicle Registration and Title Delivery
Each dealer licensed under Part 2, Licensing, upon the sale and delivery of any motor vehicle for which a temporary permit is issued under Section 41-3-302 shall within 45 days submit a certificate of title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin for that motor vehicle, endorsed according to law, to the Motor Vehicle Division, accompanied by all documents required to obtain a new certificate of title and registration in the new owner’s name.
If a dealer sells a vehicle to an individual and does not issue a temporary permit, the dealer has 48 hours to deliver a negotiable title to the individual (41-3-301).
If a dealer fails to comply with Utah Code §41-3-301(1), the dealer shall accept the return of a purchased motor vehicle under this section if the purchaser:
- returns the motor vehicle to the dealer and requests in writing that the purchase be rescinded, prior to the time the dealer submits a certificate of title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin for that motor vehicle, endorsed according to law, to the Motor Vehicle Division, accompanied by all documents required to obtain a new certificate of title and registration in the new owner’s name;
- furnishes to the dealer a written odometer disclosure statement in accordance with §41-1a-902; and
- pays the dealer an amount equal to the current standard mileage rate for the cost of operating a motor vehicle established by the federal Internal Revenue Service for each mile the motor vehicle was driven between the date the purchaser first acquired possession and the date when the purchaser returned the motor vehicle to the dealer.
If the motor vehicle or property traded in has been sold by the dealer, Utah law requires the dealer to return to the purchaser the amount of money equivalent to the value of the motor vehicle or property as allowed toward the purchase.
This demand may be made directly by the customer, his attorney, or the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division.
Any loan payments or interest due between the sale date and the return date on either the motor vehicle purchased or a motor vehicle traded in, are the responsibility of the dealer.
Telephone calls and correspondence regarding registration and titles should be directed to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
210 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
Phone: (801) 297-7780